Skye in one day from Inverness, or three days from Edinburgh?
If you are already in Inverness, a day trip works: you can reach Skye, stand on it for a while and be back the same evening, from £58. If you are starting in Edinburgh, it does not work, and that is why every Edinburgh product in our selection is three days or longer, from £180 — the distance eats the day before the island begins. The question is not which tour is better. It is where you are sleeping the night before.
The argument is geography, not taste
Nobody publishes an official door-to-door driving time between these places, so we use the timetables that do exist. Scottish Citylink's service 917 runs Inverness bus station to Portree Square in 3 hours 12 to 3 hours 20 with every stop on the summer 2026 timetable, following the same corridor the tours use: Loch Ness, Cluanie, Dornie, Kyle of Lochalsh, the Skye Bridge, Broadford, Sligachan. Out and back, that is most of a working day, which is exactly why the Inverness day trips are sold as 12 and 13 hours. From Edinburgh the timetables say something blunter: there is no direct Edinburgh to Portree coach at all in the two Citylink schedules that serve Skye. From Glasgow the fastest run is 6 hours 25 one way. Edinburgh to Inverness by train is 3 hours 29 at best, and that only gets you to the point where the Inverness day trip starts. A single day from Edinburgh would be spent almost entirely getting into position.
What the Fairy Pools day trip includes
The current Fairy Pools option is Haggis Adventures product 1072092: a 12.5-hour return trip from Inverness with a live guide in English. It combines the Fairy Pools walk, Portree and Sligachan with an optional paid visit to Dunvegan and castle photo stops. Lunch, Dunvegan admission and tips are extra. It replaces the former WOW Scotland offer; it is not the same operator or itinerary.
GetYourGuide photo of one referenced tour, not all the alternatives: Skye and Eilean Donan: day trip from Inverness

Photo from this activity’s GetYourGuide gallery. Open the offer.
The comparison that matters
Swipe to scroll the columns on mobile.
| Tour | Departs from | Length | Accommodation | Admissions | Group |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skye and Eilean Donan day trip — £58 | Inverness | 12 hours | None — same-day return | None listed; Eilean Donan is £13.00 adult at the gate | Not stated in the listing |
| Skye and Fairy Pools — Haggis Adventures; live price | Inverness | 12.5 hours | None — same-day return | Dunvegan optional and extra; other castles are photo stops | Air-conditioned midi-coach; capacity not stated |
| 3-day Skye and the Highlands — £180 | Edinburgh | 3 days | Not included — you book it yourself | Not itemised | Not stated in the listing |
| 3-day Skye, Highlands and Loch Ness — £230 | Edinburgh | 3 days | An overnight stay in a village is listed, without detail — ask before booking | Not itemised | Small group |
| 3-day Skye, Inverness and Highlands — £400 | Edinburgh | 3 days (58 hours) | Bed and breakfast included | Not included: Loch Ness cruise with Urquhart, and Culloden (£12.50 adult) | Not stated in the listing |
| 3-day Skye tour with accommodation — £478 | Edinburgh | 3 days | 2 nights bed and breakfast included | Included | 16-seat minibus |
| 4-day Skye and Jacobite steam train — £790 | Edinburgh | 4 days (83 hours) | Not itemised in the listing | Not itemised; a seat on the steam train is never guaranteed | Small group |
| 5-day Highlands and Skye — £895 | Edinburgh | 5 days (106 hours) | Not itemised in the listing | Not itemised | Not stated in the listing |
Live availability & prices

Photo from this activity’s GetYourGuide gallery. Open the offer.
Live availability & prices

Photo from this activity’s GetYourGuide gallery. Open the offer.
Bookings are completed securely on our partner GetYourGuide.
What the extra days actually buy
Three days from Edinburgh at £180 buys the Highlands as well as Skye: Glencoe, Loch Ness, Pitlochry, the Glenfinnan Viaduct with its 21 arches standing over 30 metres above the valley floor. It also buys margin. A tour with two nights on or near the island can move the Quiraing to the morning when the cloud lifts, or swap Neist Point for something lower when the wind comes in. A day trip has no such spare part: the itinerary is the itinerary, and if the weather closes in at 11am, that was your Skye. The trade is that the headline price is not the whole price. On the £180 tour, accommodation and food are both listed as not included, so the real outlay is that figure plus two nights and six meals. The £478 three-day tour puts two nights of bed and breakfast and the attraction admissions inside the price, in a 16-seat minibus. Those are two different products wearing the same '3-day Skye tour' label.
Weather is the strongest case for more than one day
The Met Office long-term averages for Skye at Prabost, near Portree, record 1,769.05 mm of rain a year. Inverness records 755.02 mm — less than half. It does not dry out in high season: August averages 124.89 mm and July 102.38 mm at Prabost, both wetter than May's 90.10 mm, and across the western half of northern Scotland the Met Office counts more than 45 summer days a year with at least 1 mm of rain. Sunshine follows the same pattern: May is the sunniest month at Prabost with 195.83 hours, ahead of July's 133.96 and August's 121.18. One day on Skye is therefore one roll of the dice, and the odds are not in your favour. Three days is three rolls. This is the reason we will not promise a viewpoint on any page of this site: Neist Point, the Old Man of Storr and the Quiraing all drop out of itineraries for wind, rain, snow or a closed road, and the Quiraing's single-track C1225 has been shut overnight for ice in a Highland Council winter bulletin.
What you still pay for after booking
Neither Inverness day trip itemises an admission ticket, so treat every door as an extra. The one that matters is Eilean Donan: £13.00 adult, £12.00 for visitors aged 60 and over, £5.75 for a child aged 5 to 15, £33.25 for a family of two adults and three children, free under five. The castle sells those only at the gate — 'Admission Tickets to the castle can only be purchased on site, on the day of visit' — so no operator can pre-sell it, and large bags are not allowed inside. On the multi-day side the £400 tour includes bed and breakfast but excludes the Loch Ness cruise with Urquhart Castle and Culloden. Its Culloden figures match the National Trust for Scotland exactly at £12.50, £11.00 and £8.00. Its Loch Ness figure does not: the listing says £31.00 while the operator publishes from £33.00, and the child price it quotes is not published anywhere official. Urquhart on its own is £14.00 booked online, £16.00 at the gate.
Who should book the day trip
Choose a day trip when you already have a base in Inverness. The Fairy Pools option adds a main walking stop to a day of sightseeing; it is not a hiking holiday. A multi-day tour from Edinburgh makes more sense when you need the longer transfer and overnight itinerary. Check each departure rather than assuming the day tours operate through winter.
The honest downsides
On a day trip from Inverness the road is the main event. The scheduled coach on the same corridor takes 3 hours 12 to 3 hours 20 each way, so a 12-hour day leaves a handful of short stops and one town.
The Inverness day trips cover different routes. The Eilean Donan offer focuses on sightseeing, while Haggis Adventures includes the Fairy Pools walk and Dunvegan. Neither promises the Quiraing circuit or Neist Point. Check the exact itinerary rather than treating every day trip as identical.
One day is one weather roll. Prabost near Portree averages 1,769.05 mm of rain a year and 124.89 mm in August alone; if the cloud sits on the Trotternish ridge that morning, there is no second morning.
The £180 headline from Edinburgh is not the trip price: that listing excludes both accommodation and food, so add two nights and your meals before comparing it with the £478 tour that includes them.
Admission figures on the listings are not always the operator's. The £400 tour quotes £31.00 for the Loch Ness cruise with Urquhart Castle while the operator publishes from £33.00, and its child price is not published officially at all.
Ready to check dates and prices?
Live availability and real prices, right here.
Frequently asked questions
Can I visit Skye as a day trip from Edinburgh?
Not in any sensible form, and not in our selection. There is no direct Edinburgh to Portree coach in the Citylink schedules that serve Skye, and from Glasgow the fastest run is 6 hours 25 one way. Every Edinburgh Skye product we list is three days or more.
How much of a 12-hour day trip is spent moving?
Most of it. Citylink's 917 covers the same Inverness to Portree corridor in 3 hours 12 to 3 hours 20 with all stops, so plan on roughly six and a half hours of road plus short stops at Invermoriston, Eilean Donan, Lealt Falls and Portree.
Is one day enough to see Skye?
It is enough to see the Portree side and the eastern edge of Trotternish. It is not enough for the west of the island. If the Quiraing or Neist Point are the reason you are coming, one day will not deliver them, and no honest tour promises they will.
Which works out cheaper overall?
The day trip, by a wide margin: £58, plus £13.00 if you go inside Eilean Donan, plus your own lunch. The cheapest Edinburgh multi-day starts at £180 with accommodation and food excluded, so its true cost is that plus two nights and six meals.
I have three days and I am based in Inverness. Day trip or a 3-day tour?
Day trip. The 3-day tours start and finish in Edinburgh, so taking one from Inverness means paying for the train down — 3 hours 29 at best — and getting back afterwards. Use one day on Skye and the other two on Inverness and Loch Ness.
Do the day trips include any walking?
The Haggis Adventures Fairy Pools option includes a walk at the pools; the other Inverness option focuses on sightseeing. Product 1072092 does not advertise three hikes or the Storr climb. Check the walking and accessibility conditions of the exact offer.
Is a winter day trip worth it?
It depends on how you feel about the dark. On 21 December at Portree the sun rises at 09:05 and sets at 15:41 UTC — 6 hours 36 minutes, against 18 hours 01 minute in June — so a large part of a 12-hour tour runs in darkness, and higher single-track roads such as the Quiraing's C1225 can be closed for ice.


